Jeff “Tain” Watts Quintet: Detained at the Blue Note (2004)

Drummer Jeff "Tain" Watts leads his quintet plus guest altoist Kenny Garrett through extended versions of four of his originals (all of which he had recorded previously in the studio) plus Bjцrk's "107 Steps." While "107 Steps" and "JC Is the Man" (which is more Thelonious Monk than John Coltrane) are fine, it is not until Garrett makes his first appearance on "Mr. JJ" (which is more Coltrane than J.J. Johnson) that this set really explodes. Garrett's passion inspires Watts during their midsong duet and adds a great deal of energy during the three songs on which he appears, completely stealing the show. Watts takes a surprise vocal on "Like the Rose" and plays with intensity throughout the performance, but it is Kenny Garrett who makes the music something special; it is a pity that he is not on the first two numbers. ~ Scott Yanow
1. 107 Steps – Jeff “Tain” Watts, Bjork 13:47
2. JC Is the Man 10:56
3. Mr. JJ 11:54
4. Sigmund Groid 19:03
5. Like the Rose 15:10
Jeff “Tain” Watts – drums;
Kenny Garrett – alto saxophone;
Dave Kikoski – piano;
Eric Revis – bass;
David Gilmor – guitar;
Marcus Strickland – tenor saxophone
Detained at the Blue Note
Hotfile Depositfiles @ 320K